So Say We All

Recently I got sucked into re-watching Battlestar Galactica (like anyone had to twist my arm). So I’ve been forfeiting my time in the kitchen in order to squeeze in an extra episode before Jenny comes home. I’ve been making a lot of grilled sandwiches this week (and last). I just finished up season 1 and am about two episodes into season 2. If you’ve seen it, I don’t have to tell you: Shit. Just. Got. Real. Like real real.

I knew the episodes I was planning to watch last night were a couple of doozies. I wanted to honor their mind-blowing amazingness with an equally imposing force of a sandwich. So after wandering around Barron’s for a while I was hit with a sudden inspiration. Mostly I was looking to spend as little as possible and use what I already had sitting at home. Then there it was in the deli case… Freshly sliced, delicious roast beef. I rarely put roast beef on a sandwich. I love it. But I usually opt for turkey for the usual reasons. Oh, girls… amirite?

When I got into the kitchen I knew I wanted to do something a little special. After all, I was dedicating this to the 47,000+ souls of the Colonial Fleet. I thought about what The Old Man might want on his sandwich after a long day of commanding. I went for it – a double decker with crispy cheese on the outside. That’s frackin’ right – on the outside!!

This one might need a little instruction, at least a bit more than the usual Panini. So here it is:

Build your monstrosity of a sandwich. You may want to add Dijon to this – I know I did! And I totally forgot to. Sad face. Whatever you do, don’t forget that third slice of bread. Col. Tigh will throw you in the brig for that rookie oversight!

Looks good already. But trust me, it gets better!

Layer it up: Gouda, Roast Beef, Caramelized Red Onion, Arugula, Gouda, Bread, Repeat.

Throw it into the skillet on low and grill until lightly golden on each side. Sprinkle the top with a little shredded gouda, flip, cover and continue to heat. This takes a while to warm all the way through, so cooking on low is important. Sprinkle the (new) top with gouda and flip again, cover and heat.

[Insert Gouda Joke Here]

[Insert Gouda Joke Here]

It’s also important to grill it a little bit first before adding the cheese to the top. If it’s on there too long you’ll burn it. But if you take a little time and use a little finesse you’ll end up with this…

Double Decker Roast Beef, Gouda, Caramelized Red Onion and Arugula

Double Decker Roast Beef, Gouda, Caramelized Red Onion and Arugula

Thank the Gods for Sweet Potato Tots.

Thank the Gods for Sweet Potato Tots.

 

 

 

*The chefs call me Aricka. You may refer to me as God.

