Curry Roasted Carrot Purée with Fettuchine, Roasted Asparagus and Peas

A few months ago I served a delicious pea purée with scallops. Ever since, I’ve been tossing pea purée with pasta. It’s freaking delicious! Try it! It’s beautiful, velvety, and rich, yet somehow totally healthy and low in fat. I’ve cut the calories and fat back from my original recipe by omitting the butter completely and it doesn’t take away from the richness at all. And the color! Oh my, the color!

That pretty little pea purée sparked something in my brain that I couldn’t ignore. I’ve become obsessed with using vegetable purées in lieu of cheese or cream based sauces. Puréed veggies give you the same luxurious, comforting texture as a cheese sauce with nearly none of the fat and twice the flavor! I’m all for cheese, but these sauces are amazing.

I had done the pea one a few times and decided I wanted to try something new. I immediately thought about carrots. And they sounded good, but I couldn’t help thinking that just boiling some carrots and blending with some garlic would leave pasta unbalanced. Carrots are generally on the sweet side, or worse, if bought at the grocery are bland! I wanted to add something that would lend something to the carrots’ sweetness to create a deep, rich flavor. I decided roasting the carrots with a little curry seemed like a great place to start.

I didn’t want to overpower the sauce or have it end up tasting like Thai food so I didn’t use a lot of curry. It ended up perfectly balanced, interesting, and so good! I also made sure to buy local, organic carrots from the farmers market in order to get that real carrot flavor.

Curry Roasted Carrot Purée with Fettuchine, Roasted Asparagus, and Peas

Curry Roasted Carrot Purée with Fettuccine, Roasted Asparagus, and Peas

Ingredients

1 Bunch (about 4 medium) Organic Carrots, scrubbed and chopped into about 1-1 1/2″ pieces

2 Large Shallots, Sliced

3 Cloves of Garlic, Minced

1 tsp Madras Curry Powder

1 Bunch Asparagus, chopped  into 1-1 1/2″ pieces

1 1/2 cup Frozen Peas

1 cup Vegetable Broth

1/4 cup Parmesan, grated (Optional)

2 tbsp Olive Oil

Salt and Pepper

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400°. On a foil lined baking sheet toss asparagus with olive oil and salt and pepper, move to on side of the baking sheet. On the other side toss the carrots with the shallots, garlic, olive oil, curry powder, salt and pepper. Roast for 20 minutes. Meanwhile prepare fettuccine as directed.

2. When vegetables are finished roasting set the asparagus aside. In a blender combine the carrots, shallots, garlic, vegetable broth and Parmesan (if desired). Pulse until combined adding curry, salt and pepper to taste, as well as vegetable broth to thin as needed.

3. Reserve 1/2 cup pasta water, drain pasta. Return pasta to pot and add the peas and asparagus. Add the carrot purée and stir to combine. Turn heat on low and cover for 5 minutes to heat the peas and sauce. Serve with Parmesan.

I am crazy excited to discover other delicious purées to be served over pasta. Leave your suggestions and ideas in the comments!!

