Roasted Cauliflower, Tomatoes, and Shallots with Sautéed Spinach

I’m so happy that it is finally starting to cool off! I love being able to use my oven without sweating in the kitchen. I’ve been feeling the urge to cook and experiment more with veggies. I’ve been eating less meat these days too; I’m trying to cut out terribly raised meat and save a little money at the same time. When I do buy meat it’s much more often been the hippy-dippy organic/free-range/grass-fed/happy-life kind. It can definitely be more expensive, but it works out since I am buying less of it. It really does taste better too.

I’m really lucky to have access to these sorts of things. A lot of people, like my parents, don’t have access to Farmers Markets or Trader Joes/Sprouts. They just aren’t able to buy better-for-the world foods. And when they are available they cost an outrageous amount.  So the advice I have been giving my mom is to just eat and buy less meat in general. It’s healthier for them anyway and even cutting back a little bit helps the environment. It also hits the manufacturers where it counts – their bottom line. And that can speak pretty loudly if everyone is making an effort. But my dad being very much a “meat and potatoes” guy, it’s hard for my mom to satisfy his cravings with salads and the like. So I have been thinking more about hearty vegetarian meals. The key to these meals is depth of flavor and adding a little richness without tons of butter or cheese.  Roasting vegetables really brings out the oomph!

Roasted Cauliflower, Tomatoes and Shallots with Sautéed Spinach

Roasted Cauliflower, Tomatoes and Shallots with Sautéed Spinach

Cauliflower is one of my favorites but it really becomes deliciously hearty when roasted. I threw in a little bacon since I needed to use it up and a bit of Parmesan cheese. But one could leave these out for an equally satisfying vegan meal. I thinly sliced the garlic rather than mincing it. It gave a nice bite to every few mouthfuls.

Not only was this super easy and quick to put together, but it was insanely cheap! Considering I always have shallots and garlic on hand, my grocery list was only three items and cost about $8. It was enough for two people, or lunch the next day.

Ingredients

1 Head of Cauliflower, chopped

1 10oz Container of Grape Tomatoes

2 Shallots, sliced

2-3 Cloves of Garlic, sliced

2-3 Cups Spinach, washed and roughly chopped

3 tbsp Olive oil

Salt and Pepper

 

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 425°. On a foiled lined baking sheet, toss the cauliflower, tomatoes, shallots and garlic with 2tbsp of oil and a generous amount of salt and pepper. Roast in the oven for 40 minutes.

2. While the cauliflower is roasting, sautée the spinach with 1tbsp olive oil and salt and pepper.

3. When the cauliflower mix is finished roasting, toss in a bowl with the spinach. Add Parmesan and salt and pepper to taste.

